Classes

Food Handlers

Anyone working in the food industry, whether you’re a dishwasher or server, needs this permit. Classes are offered online. 

Online Class Fee: $25
Replacement Card Fee: $3

YOUTH TOBACCO/VAPING CESSATION SERVICES

My Life My Quit is a free, evidence-based tobacco and nicotine cessation treament service for youth under 18 years of age. In addition to building skills and knowledge regarding tobacco cessation, nicotine, and vaping triggers, the participant will work with a coach to develop a quit plan, manage cravings and stress, and get back on track after relapses. The individual will participate in 5 proactive phone or web-based sessions with a coach and will have continued access to help even after sessions are finished.  Contact the Bear River Health Department at 435-792-6510 with any questions or for help registering.

Class Fee: FREE

Utah Tobacco Retailer Class

The Utah Tobacco Retailer class provides education to retailers to help prevent individuals younger than 21 from having access to tobacco products, electronic cigarette products, and nicotine products. This class offers tips for managers and employees to keep tobacco products and e-cigarettes out of the hands of youth. The class also contains information about tobacco laws and local health department contacts.

Class Fee: FREE

Diabetes Prevention

The National Diabetes Prevention Program is a one-year lifestyle change program that will teach you how to lower your risk of Type 2 Diabetes through making better food choices and increasing physical activity.  The goal of the program is to lose 5-7% of your body weight and get 150 minutes of physical activity each week.

Class Fee: FREE (Valued at $500)

Class participants must qualify. To qualify you must:

  1. Have a BMI greater than 25 and,
  2. Be 18 years old or older and,
  3. Have an A1c of 5.7-6.4 or fasting glucose between 100-120
    or score 5 or more on this risk assessment.

To register for a class call 435-792-6510.

Stepping On

Stepping On is a program that empowers older adults to carry out health behaviors that reduce the risks of falls. It is a community-based workshop offered once a week for seven weeks using adult education and self-efficacy principles. In a small-group setting, older adults learn balance exercises and develop specific knowledge and skills to prevent falls.

Older adults who should attend are those who:
a) Are at risk of falling
b) Have a fear of falling
c) Who have fallen one or more times

Workshops are facilitated by two trained leaders, one who is a professional who works with older adults, and one an older adult who meets the criteria for the class. For more information or to register for upcoming classes call 435-792-6500.

Class Fee: FREE

Tai Chi

Tai Chi is a graceful form of exercise that involves a series of movements, known as forms, which are performed in a low, focused manner combined with controlled breathing. It is a low impact exercise that puts minimal stress on muscles and joints, making it suitable for many older adults. Tai Chi for Falls Prevention is an evidenced based class to help improve health and wellness and has been proven effective to prevent falls. Tai Chi does not require special equipment and can be practiced indoors or outdoors, either alone or in a group.

For more information or to register for upcoming classes call 435-792-6500.

Class Fee: FREE

Adult Tobacco Cessation

Get Help Quitting! Find free and confidential tools for quitting nicotine or supporting someone else to quit. Call Bear River Health Department for a referral at 435-792-6510, or get started on your own at waytoquit.org or 1-800-QUITNOW (1-800-784-8669).

Health professionals can make referrals by going to Way to Quit-Referral.

Suicide Prevention

Question, Persuade and Refer (QPR) is a one hour evidence based class that teaches anyone how to recognize the warning signs of suicide, know how to offer hope and how to get help and save a life.  QPR can be given to any group, business or organization.

To schedule a QPR today please call 435-792-6500.

Class Fee: FREE

Breastfeeding

Two FREE breastfeeding classes are available at BRHD:

For parents who are expecting and want to breastfeed.

Please call 435-792-6451 for more information and to reserve your spot

Support Class for parents with babies 2 - 4 months old and breastfeeding

Please call 435-792-6451 for more information and to reserve your spot

Moms or couples are welcome to attend for support and to learn the following:
• Breastfeeding basics (positioning and latch)
• Where to get help and support to help you reach your breastfeeding goals
• What to expect from delivery through the first year
• Tips on how to establish and maintain a milk supply
• Introducing solids
• Teething

Class Fee: FREE

Anger Management

This ten-session one-hour per week, ongoing group covers topics such as:  the anger cycle, learning appropriate effective communication methods, and acting assertively vs. acting aggressively.  Attendees may include substance abuse clients as well as non-clients, and from any referral source.  Non-clients complete a short registration prior to attending the first group.

Class Fee: Sliding Fee Scale. Call us for details, 435.792.6500.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI)

Is a 16 hour, 4 session class for individuals that have been court ordered to take a drug and alcohol education program for driving under the influence. The class is held once a week on Wednesdays from 4:30 pm to 8:30 pm for 4 weeks.

Class Fee: $225

Before registering, participants must call 435-792-6420 (Logan Office) or 435-734-2076 (Brigham City Office).

Minor in Possession (MIP)

Is a 8 hour, 4 session class for youth who have been court ordered to attend a drug and alcohol education program after receiving a minor in possession ticket. The class is held twice a week on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 4 pm to 6 pm for 2 weeks.

Class Fee: $50

Before registering, participants must call 435-792-6420 (Logan Office) or 435-734-2076 (Brigham City Office).

Parenting Wisely

Is a parent educational program for parents of toddlers through teenagers. The program is online and parents are able to watch in about 2 hours. The program takes parents through different situations and scenarios that they might face with their children and gives them skills and tools to help deal with those situations. There are two different online courses available, one for parents of young children and one for parents of teenagers. The program is offered in both English and Spanish.

Class Fee: FREE

MATURATION

Is your child a part of the 5th grade maturation program? Would you like to review the materials that will be discussed prior to attending either the parent meeting or the maturation clinic? The links below connect you to the presentations that will be shared this year.

informed consent abortion

The decision whether or not to have an abortion should be carefully considered. It is important to be well-informed before making such an important decision. If you are seeking an abortion, to meet the State of Utah informed consent law and begin the 72-hour waiting period, you are required to complete an education module which can be accessed here